November 9, 2017 | by: Chris Pride

2017 CMA Awards – A Great Night for Country Music!

In a time where celebrities use awards shows to make political statements, the 2017 CMA awards gave country musicians an opportunity to make a statement of their own.  But instead of doing so through sanctimonious speeches they did so through the most powerful medium in the world; song.

Throughout the night country music’s finest delivered messages of unity and love with the humility we’ve come to expect from the genre.

The show’s co-host Carrie Underwood delivered a beautiful tribute to the Las Vegas shooting victims.

There was also an amazing performance with pretty much every musican in Nashville joining Darius Rucker for a version of his old band’s hit, Hold My Hand.

Then country duo Dan & Shay teamed with Lauren Alaina for a rousing version of Get Together.

And then there was Keith Urban who debuted his powerful new song Female, a song inspired by the Harvey Weinstein scandal.

There were also some moments of levity, like Tim McGraw & Faith Hill making fun of Brad Paisley & Carrie Underwood.

Or Garth Brooks.

It was hard not to agree with Garth on this night about country music.  The 2017 CMA awards delivered a beautiful message that was wrapped in amazing musical performances.  Oh yeah, they also handed out some awards too.

Here’s the winners list:

Entertainer of the year
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Single of the year
(Award goes to the artist, producer[s] and mix engineer[s])
“Better Man” — Little Big Town; producer: Jay Joyce; mix engineers: Jason Hall and Jay Joyce
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” — Keith Urban; producers: Dann Huff and Keith Urban; mix engineer: Chris Lord-Alge
“Body Like a Back Road” — Sam Hunt; producer: Zach Crowell; mix engineer: Zach Crowell
“Dirt on My Boots” — Jon Pardi; producers: Bart Butler and Jon Pardi; mix engineer: Ryan Gore
“Tin Man” — Miranda Lambert; producers: Frank Liddell, Eric Masse and Glenn Worf; mix engineer: Eric Masse

Album of the year
(Award goes to the artist and producer[s])
The Breaker — Little Big Town; producer: Jay Joyce
From a Room: Volume 1 — Chris Stapleton; producers: Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton
Heart Break — Lady Antebellum; producer: busbee
The Nashville Sound — Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit; producer: Dave Cobb
The Weight of These Wings — Miranda Lambert; producers: Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf and Eric Masse

Song of the year
(Award goes to the songwriter[s])
“Better Man” — Songwriter: Taylor Swift
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” — Songwriters: Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey and Steven Olsen
“Body Like a Back Road” — Songwriters: Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne
“Dirt on My Boots” — Songwriters: Rhett Akins, Jesse Frasure and Ashley Gorley
“Tin Man” — Songwriters: Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert and Jon Randall

Female vocalist of the year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Reba McEntire
Maren Morris
Carrie Underwood

Male vocalist of the year
Dierks Bentley
Eric Church
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal group of the year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Vocal duo of the year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Musical event of the year
Craving You — Thomas Rhett, featuring Maren Morris
Funny How Time Slips Away — Glen Campbell with Willie Nelson
Kill a Word — Eric Church, featuring Rhiannon Giddens
Setting the World on Fire — Kenny Chesney with Pink
Speak to a Girl – Tim McGraw and Faith Hill

Musician of the year
Jerry Douglas (Dobro)
Paul Franklin (steel guitar)
Dann Huff (guitar)
Mac McAnally (guitar)
Derek Wells (guitar)

Music video of the year
(Award goes to the artist and director[s])
“Better Man” — Little Big Town; directors: Becky Fluke and Reid Long
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” — Keith Urban; director: Carter Smith
“Craving You” — Thomas Rhett, featuring Maren Morris; director: TK McKamy
“It Ain’t My Fault” — Brothers Osborne; directors: Wes Edwards and Ryan Silver
“Vice” — Miranda Lambert; director: Trey Fanjoy

New artist of the year
Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs
Old Dominion
Jon Pardi
Brett Young