Miranda Lambert & Luke Combs lead 2020 CMA nominations - Blog - CFCY
September 2, 2020 | by: Chris Pride

Miranda Lambert & Luke Combs lead 2020 CMA nominations

On Tuesday the 2020 CMA award nominations were announced with a few notable snubs and some more than award-worthy nominations.  Leading the way was Miranda Lambert with 7.  That brought her to 55 career CMA nominations, tops amongst all female artists ever.  Luke Combs slides into second with 6 nominations himself.  Both Miranda & Luke dropped incredibly successful and critically acclaimed this year, Lambert’s “Wildcard” is considered by many to be her best effort in years and Combs’ “What You See Is What You Get” has spent much of 2020 on top of the country albums chart with his previous album “This One’s For You” right behind it in the number 2 spot.

Both Lambert & Combs are nominated in the same category for multiple awards including Album of the Year and Entertainer of the Year.  With Garth Brooks having removed himself from contention for the Entertainer of the Year award, the competition is fierce.  Eric Church, Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban are the other nominees.

When it comes to snubs there are some surprising artists who were left in the cold this year.  Snubbed artists include Kane Brown, Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Bryan, Blake Shelton, Kenny Chesney and Tenille Townes.  Townes, a Canadian performer, earned the ACM award for best new female artist yet didn’t get a nod for the CMA New Artist of the Year.  Here’s the complete list of nominations:


New Artist of the Year
Jimmie Allen
Ingrid Andress
Gabby Barrett
Carly Pearce
Morgan Wallen

Album of the Year
“Heartache Medication” – Jon Pardi
“Never Will” – Ashley McBryde
“Old Dominion” – Old Dominion
“What You See Is What You Get” – Luke Combs
“Wildcard” – Miranda Lambert

Music Event of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
“Be A Light” – Thomas Rhett, (feat. Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban)
“The Bones” – Maren Morris with Hozier
“Fooled Around And Fell In Love” – Miranda Lambert (feat. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack)
“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice

Entertainer of the Year
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Miranda Lambert
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Single of the Year
“10,000 Hours” — Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
“Beer Never Broke My Heart” — Luke Combs
“Bluebird” — Miranda Lambert
“The Bones” — Maren Morris
“I Hope” — Gabby Barrett

Song of the Year
“Bluebird” – Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert
“The Bones” – Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz
“Even Though I’m Leaving” – Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Ray Fulcher
“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce, Jonathan Singleton
“More Hearts Than Mine” – Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis, Derrick Southerland

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady A
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Music Video of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
“Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
“Homemade” – Jake Owen
“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
“Second One To Know” – Chris Stapleton

Musician of the Year
Jenee Fleenor, Fiddle
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Rob McNelley, Guitar
Ilya Toshinskiy, Guitar
Derek Wells, Guitar