September 10, 2018 | by: Chris Pride

Women take centre stage @ 2018 CCMA awards

photo cred: CCMA Official


The 2018 CCMA awards started off by paying tribute to one Canada’s most celebrated performers, and the show’s host Shania Twain.  Twain performed with 3 powerful Canadian women in Jess Moskaluke, Madeline Merlo & Kira Isabella.

Two of those ladies would go onto win some major hardware.  Twain won the Apple Music Fan’s Choice award beating out heavy hitters Brett Kissel, Dallas Smith & Dean Brody.  Moskaluke brought home 2 awards of her own; Album of the Year for her latest release (Past the Past) and Country Music Program or Special of the Year for Jess Moskaluke: Home Movie.

Then there was possibly the most stacked category in the whole show; Female Artist of the Year.  Both Moskaluke (a 3 time winner of the award herself) and Twain (a 4 time winner) earned noms but so did Lindsay Ell who in 2018 became the first woman in 10 years to earn a number 1 single on Canadian country radio.  However it was last year’s winner Meghan Patrick who once again strolled up to the podium to collect the CCMA award for female artist of the year.

And of course, Terri Clark was inducted into the CCMA Hall of Fame.

Not to be outdone the men did a pretty good job themselves.  Dallas Smith earned Male Artist of the Year & Video of the Year (Sky Stays This Blue), Brett Kissel was named interactive artist of the year & The James Barker Band took home Single of the Year for Chills.

As well, 2018 marked the first time that the Cavendish Beach Music Festival won the award for Country Music Festival, Fair or Exhibition.  PEI’s biggest music festival was in tough beating out Boots or Hearts & The Calgary Stampede.

Here’s the complete list:

Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award

– Gord Bamford
– Dean Brody
– Chad Brownlee
– Tim Hicks
– High Valley
– James Barker Band
– Brett Kissel
– Jess Moskaluke
– Dallas Smith
– Shania Twain

Ford album of the year

– Country Music Made Me Do It, Meghan Patrick
– Past the Past, Jess Moskaluke
– The Project, Lindsay Ell
– We Were That Song, Brett Kissel
– What We’re Made Of, The Washboard Union

Female artist of the year

– Lindsay Ell
– Madeline Merlo
– Jess Moskaluke
– Meghan Patrick
– Shania Twain

Male artist of the year

– Gord Bamford
– Chad Brownlee
– Brett Kissel
– Dallas Smith
– Bobby Wills

Group or duo of the year

– High Valley
– Hunter Brothers
– James Barker Band
– The Reklaws
– The Washboard Union

Roots artist or group of the year

– The Lovelocks
– Jessica Mitchell
– Lindi Ortega
– The Washboard Union
– Donovan Woods

SiriusXM Rising Star

– Dan Davidson
– Aaron Goodvin
– Hunter Brothers
– Leaving Thomas
– The Reklaws

Single of the year

– “Chills,” James Barker Band
– “Country Music Made me do It,” Meghan Patrick
– “Drive me Away,” Jess Moskaluke
– “Lonely Drum,” Aaron Goodvin
– “Side Effects,” Dallas Smith

Video of the year

– “The Bad Guy,” Meghan Patrick
– “Drive me Away,” Jess Moskaluke
– “Hometown Kids,” The Reklaws
– “Sky Stays This Blue,” Dallas Smith
– “We Were That Song,” Brett Kissel

Songwriter(s) of the year

– Dean Brody, Matt Rovey: “8th Day” (performed by Dean Brody)
– Dan Isbell, Meghan Patrick, Jeremy Stover: “Country Music Made me do It” (performed by Meghan Patrick)
– Zach Abend, Corey Crowder, Jess Moskaluke: “Drive me Away” (performed by Jess Moskaluke)
– James Barker, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood: “It’s Working” (performed by James Barker Band)
– Alexander Black, Aaron Goodvin, Cathy Gravitt: “Lonely Drum” (performed by Aaron Goodvin)

Interactive artist or group of the year

– Tenille Arts
– Hunter Brothers
– Brett Kissel
– Leaving Thomas
– Nice Horse

Country festival, fair or exhibition of the year

– Big Valley Jamboree, Camrose, Alta.
– Boots And Hearts Music Festival, Oro-Medonte, Ont.
– Calgary Stampede, Calgary, Alta.
– Cavendish Beach Music Festival, Cavendish, P.E.I.
– Rockin’ River Country Music Fest – Merritt, B.C.

Country music program or special of the year

– Canadian Coast to Coast (Fabmar Communications)
– The Casey Clarke Country Countdown (Casey Clarke Productions)
– The Casey Clarke Show (Casey Clarke Productions)
– The Dungarees Christmas Special (Rogers Media and The Dungarees)
– Jess Moskaluke: Home Movie (Corus Entertainment)

Industry person of the year

– Steve Coady, vice president, radio promotions, Warner Music Canada
– Jim Cressman, president, Invictus Entertainment Group
– Mike Denney, president, MDM Recordings Inc.
– Shannon McNevan, director of A&R, Universal Music Canada
– Robert Ott, chairman, CEO, ole